The Justice Conference

HELLO!

So, I did an interview with the New Zealand Prostitutes Collective last week. I’ve been trying to write that article for a while. But it’s still in processing. So I’ll write this article instead.

JusticeKiss is an official partner of the first ever The Justice Conference NZ! The Justice Conference is an event held by TearFund NZ. What their about I’ll use their words for:

The Justice Conference was birthed out of a simple idea and a compelling paradox – true life is found when we give our lives away on behalf of others. What if Christians truly lived out the message of Jesus and transformed their communities through their love and the practice of authentic justice?

This idea was put into action and The Justice Conference was founded in 2010 by a group of like minded friends in Bend, Oregon (USA) who dreamed of impacting a generation for justice. The driving value of the conference has always been what is called the theology of justice, that an understanding of God should compel love for others and engagement in justice.”

Now, I hope it doesn’t come as a surprise that I’m a christian to anyone reading this. And I in no way believe that christians have the corner market on justice. I think aligning ourselves with justice in our world is the work of good human beings.

That being said, I am so freaking stoked to be able to partner with a bunch of other christians that believe God cares about justice A LOT. There’s gonna be a bunch of speakers there that are so much further on this path than me…..including my Bishop….and I can’t wait to soak up their wisdom and experience.

I also get to present what I’m doing at a table and sell some pretty things to a bunch of people who want to see Justice and partner with Justice and woo Justice! And JusticeKiss will be a live link on their webpage so it’s great exposure for the business.

For me, this is like meeting my tribe. And I don’t always belong very easily. So it’s a little scary, but a lot exciting. Often, I am told I’m too passionate….too intense. Well so be it. You know, there are huge problems in our world today, and as far as I can tell from history it’s only the too passionate and the too intense that ever made a dent in the problems of their day. So I’m happy to be meeting a group of people and partnering with a group of people who are probably too passionate in their own ways, probably wear their hearts on their sleeves, and definitely write some poetry about it all. 🙂

If you are in Auckland or in NZ or if you’re even in Oz and want to take a trip over in October I would highly recommend you get to this event. It’s going to be spectacular. This will give you all the details : http://www.thejusticeconference.org.nz/  Come along and play with us! Okay, I will admit, there’s probably gonna be some tough stuff we talk about too and that we wrestle with. But I have never known anyone into justice that didn’t also know how to have a roaring good time. (mostly) I definitely have never known anyone into poetry slams that isn’t like the coolest thing ever. So get there!

Leave a Reply

